PCB announce Pakistani squads for Asia cup & World T20

PCB announce Pakistani squads for Asia cup & World T20


Shahid Afridi to lead Pakistan in World T20 2016
Shahid Afridi will lead the Pakistan side in the upcoming World T20 to be played in India in March. The Paksitani selectors have sprung a surprise by naming Mohammed Nawaz and fast bowler Ruman Raees. Both of them are yet to be capped on the T20 international level. Left-handed batsman Khurram Manzoor too has been named in the squad.

The surprising exclusion is that of opener Ahmed Shahzad in spite of being selected for the tour to New Zealand in January. Shoaib Maqsood and Saad Nasim, wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan, all-rounder Aamer Yamin and fast bowler Umar Gul too have been left out of the squad.

Pakistan will be hoping that the likes of Mohammed Hafeez, Umar Akmal and Sarfaraz Ahmed will come good at the top of the order. The inclusion of Mohammed Irfan will certainly come as a boost.
Pakistan won the last World T20 in England in 2009 and will be hoping for a repeat of the same. However, all eyes will be on debutantes Mohammed Nawaz and Ruman Raees. The Pakistanis will travel to Bangladesh for the Asia Cup following the conclusion of the Pakistan Super League. The World Cup is scheduled to begin on the 8th of March.

Pakistan squad for World T20 2016:

Shahid Afridi (C), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Raees