List of purple cap holders in the DLF IPL, Pepsi IPL, VIVO...

List of purple cap holders in the DLF IPL, Pepsi IPL, VIVO IPL


List of purple cap holders in the IPL T20

Cricket is growing in to a batsmen friendly game and the respect for the bowlers has gradually decreased with the advent of the T20.

Indian Premier League (IPL) has its way of recognizing the best blowers in the tournament, and it is by awarding the “Purple Cap”. Here, is the list of the best bowlers and the proud owners of the Purple cap over the years in the IPL.

1. Sohail Tanvir, IPL 1, 2008

The first season of the IPL had seen some stupendous bowling from the young Pakistan fast bowler, Sohail Tanvir. His swingy action is a major plus for the left-hander, his bowling action and landing is so peculiar that it makes it very challenging for the batsmen to read the ball and they miss out to hit even on lose balls.

Tanvir’s ability swing the ball and change the pace occasionally in IPL are the reasons that facilitated him to grab 22 wickets in just 11 games of the inaugural season. The Pakistani pacer had best bowling figures of 6/14 against the mighty CSK.