Amir, Gul return as Pakistan announce squad for NZ

Amir, Gul return as Pakistan announce squad for NZ


LAHORE: Pakistan recalled fast bowlers Mohammad Amir and Umar Gul in the 16-man squad for Twenty20 series against New Zealand later this month, chief selector Haroon Raheed announced on Friday. Pakistan is scheduled to play three T20 and three one-day internationals against New Zealand, starting from January 15, 2016. Amir will feature in the Pakistan team for the first time since the infamous spot-fixing scandal in 2010 that led to his suspension from the game for five years.
“But Amir’s inclusion is subject to clearance by the New Zealand immigration authorities,” said Rasheed.
This is Amir’s first national selection since serving out his ban for spot-fixing in the Lord’s Test of 2010. His inclusion is subject to his visa coming through – given he has served time in jail for his role in the spot-fixing, obtaining a New Zealand visa might prove problematic – though the PCB is confident of not having issues on that front.

Azhar Ali, who had earlier attempted to quit his role as ODI captain to protest against Amir’s return to the national radar, remains in charge of the one-day team.

Fast bowler Umar Gul, who has missed out since the away limited-overs series against Bangladesh in April 2015, returns to the T20 squad. Mohammad Irfan misses out in the shortest format, making way for Amir.

Meanwhile, Gul, who last participated in the limited-overs game against Bangladesh this year but failed to impress selectors, has now again emerged on the scene by giving in extraordinary performance in the ongoing Quaid-i-Azam Trophy.

T20 Squad
Ahmed Shehzad
Mohammad Hafeez
Sohaib Maqsood
Shoaib Malik
Umar Akmal
Iftikhar Ahmed
Shahid Afridi
Immad Wasim
Anwar Ali
Amir Yamin
Sarfraz Ahmed
Wahab Riaz
Umar Gul
Mohammad Rizwan
Saad Nasim
Mohammad Amir